Project History

Landmarks commissioned Ben Rubin to create a project for the College of Communication’s Belo Center for New Media. Rubin’s new media installation, And That’s The Way It Is, was unveiled in April 2012 at the dedication of the Walter Cronkite Plaza in honor of Walter Cronkite. And That’s The Way It Is consists of an evolving stream of text vignettes projected on the southern façade of the CMA building.

The project was funded through the College of Communication’s capital improvement project. It can be viewed every evening from dusk until midnight in the Walter Cronkite Plaza, located on Whitis Avenue, between 25th and Dean Keeton Streets.

For their support and assistance, Landmarks would like to thank:


Andrée Bober and Landmarks
Pat Clubb and University Operations
Douglas Dempster and the College of Fine Arts
Roderick Hart and the Moody College of Communication
Landmarks Advisory Committee
William Powers and the Office of the President
Bob Rawski and the Office of Facilities Planning and Construction
David Rea and the Office of Campus Planning and Facilities Management
Bill Throop and Project Management and Construction Services
Sharon Wood and the Faculty Building Advisory Committee

Project Team

Andrée Bober, curator and director, Landmarks
Pawn Chavaltur, Office of Facilities Planning and Construction
Dennis Duff, Project Management and Construction Services
Michelle Gorman, EAR Studio
Bill Haddad, Landmarks
Severine Halls, Office of Facilities Planning and Construction
Mark Hanson, EAR Studio
Nisa Mason, project manager, Landmarks
Ben Rubin, artist
Jer Thorpe, EAR Studio

Special Thanks

Bryce Wolkowitz Gallery
Don Carleton and the Dolph Briscoe Center for American History
Janice Damon, Moody College of Communication
Andrew Dillon and the School of Information
Kathleen Forde, curatorial contributor
Leag Griffin, education and external affairs, Landmarks
Lauren Hanson, curatorial contributor
Thomas Lekometros, Earl Swisher, and Lawrence Group Architects
Stephen Littrell and University of Texas Libraries
Beth Palazzolo, administrative coordination, University Operations
Frank Serpas, Moody College of Communication
Stephanie Tapauraskas, event coordination
Texas Student Media